PhotoDelusions

8 May 2009

Minolta XD7 and MD 50 mm f/1.7

Climbing rose

St Andrews Lane, Headington, Oxford | Minolta XD7 | MD 50 mm f/1.7

 

I picked this camera up on eBay and I have to say I’m hugely impressed.

XD-7

The example I have is not perfect, the selected shutter speed and aperture indicators (using the little windows in the prism housing) don’t work. The shutter is lovely, so quiet compared to the A100 and feather light. The body is compact and solid; the metal construction inspiring confidence. The camera apparently shares a development programme with the Leica R4, and I can believe it.

I got a film back from processing today, with all the pictures scanned at 3000×2000 pixels (6 MB), and a few will follow this posting, which features a climbing rose.

2 Comments »

  1. Hallo,

    If you think the XD and its lens are good, try using one of the AF series and using it with a 100ASA film.

    The ones I have constantly select aperture/speed combinations that I’ve not considered in the nearly 50 years I’ve been taking pictures, and produce excellent results. An added bonus is that the lenses can also be used on Sony digital SLR,s.

    I will admit that some lenses in the series are better than others, mostly due to manufacturing tolerances, but looked at on a cost/quality basis they have great value for money when bought on on-line auctions.

    Comment by Benelatus — 26 December 2009 @ 1:41 pm

    • Thanks for your comments; I do like the AF series cameras and lenses as well and I have a Sony DSLR to put the glass to good use as well.

      What I like about the manual lenses is their availability for a fraction of the price of an AF equivalent lens.

      Whether AF or MF, the Minolta heritage glass and equipment can give great results.

      Comment by Howard — 26 December 2009 @ 5:10 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

